2019 – The Year of Exploration

714020 2-01

In 2017, a twist of fate brought me to Ann Morgan’s blog, where she chronicled her year of reading a piece of literature from every country in the world. While no one can deny that it was an admirable achievement, my biggest takeaway from it was the fact that I, too, had almost exclusively read books from the English-speaking world… and I live in a country with 22 official languages!

I set out to change that by incorporating more pieces of writing from different countries in 2018, and while I didn’t make much of a dent, I did come across some great reads from Ireland, China, Colombia, Denmark, Singapore and the Netherlands, among many other nations. And I have a bookshelf where offerings from countries like Zimbabwe, Romania, Egypt, Latvia and the Philippines still await!

As a new year dawns, I’m setting off on another journey around the world, this time through movies, books, television shows and music. And this blog will serve as my travel journal, where I will hopefully look back on the wealth of experience, knowledge and entertainment that I have enjoyed in 2019 (and beyond).

Until then, happy new year and bon voyage to anyone following along!

Leave a comment